Familiar Game
Enjoy with Android APP
Download
Menu

The Failure of Great Promise

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  dcl1212 3 years ago.

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author

dcl1212

Tales of Berseria

Rating: 3.0 – Fair

The Failure of Great Promise

As background, my two favourite Tales games are Vesperia and Xillia. I have not played Xestiria.

I’m afraid I just can’t agree with the consensus on this one. I found this game to be full of initial promise but ultimately disappointing.

Story – 10/10 – The one shining light to this game. One of the reasons to play the Tales games is they’ve ditched the absolute good and evil of most JRPGs. The characters learn and grow throughout the game. When I started playing this game, the story dragged me in immediately. The infrequent additions to the story as well as the characters themselves were the only thing that kept me playing this game.

Gameplay/Overall Experience – 4/10

Linear – Berseria is almost completely linear. You have basically zero freedom of movement. In comparison, very quickly after starting Xillia, you were able to warp to almost anywhere you’d already been. Here you are forced to walk back over the same areas over and over again. The warp function is provided late and is really bad. You are only able to warp to towns and through most of the game, most of the options are greyed out. You do get the geoboard about 2/3 of the way through the game. This makes the slog a little less painful. The game finally opens up just before you go to the final battle. Better late than never I suppose.

Sidequests – None through most of the game. Oh wait – there are some minigames. I tried them all at least once but the only one that held any interest for me was “Character Cards’. Not nearly as good as Gwent or Arcomage but not terrible. The only actual sidequests show up near the end of the game.